Education : Current Fellows

Maya Babu, M.D.


Started in 07/2017
Graduate in 06/2018

A native of Eagan, Minnesota, Dr. Babu attended college at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities, receiving a BS in neuroscience and BA in psychology, both summa cum laude with highest distinction in 2005. Dr. Babu attended Harvard Medical School and received an MD cum laude in 2010. She also attended Harvard Business School, where she received her MBA in 2010. She has completed a critical care enfolded fellowship (2016) and neurosurgical residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota (2017). She served on the Board of Trustees of the American Medical Association from 2013 to 2017, served as Chair of the American College of Surgeons’ Resident and Associate Society from 2015 to 2016, served on the Board of Directors of the National Resident Matching Program from 2014 to 2017, was named a Visiting Scholar by the American Board of Medical Specialties from 2015 to 2016, and serves in several leadership capacities through the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) and the Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS). She previously worked at Piper Jaffray in medical technology investment banking and Medtronic in business development. She received a 2010 Harvard Business School Dean’s Award and met President Bush in 2004 as an honoree of USA FreedomCorps for volunteer service. Her research focuses on health policy, transparency, cost of care, and education. She is the recipient of the 2009 Petrie-Flom Academic Fellowship from Harvard Law School, the 2011 Robert Florin Award (AANS), the 2012 Julius Goodman Award (CNS), and the 2016 Byron Cone Pevehouse Young Neurosurgeons Award (AANS).